

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 15, 2016

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Society Announces Winners of the 2016 SRAA Poster Competition

The 14 winners of the annual Student Research Achievement Awards were recognized at the 60th Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony on February 29. These students were selected by judges from the Society's subgroups for their outstanding presentations during the poster competition. Eighty-two students participated in the competition. The winners are:

Bioenergetics

Paween Mahinthichaichan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign CHARACTERIZATIONS OF SUBSTRATE DELIVERY PATHWAYS IN THE NITRIC OXIDE REDUCTASE.

Biological Fluorescence

Rayna Addabbo, University of Wisconsin- Madison
KINETIC COMPENSATION BETWEEN ESTER-BOND CLEAVAGE,
FOLDING AND RELEASE FROM THE RIBOSOME IN PROTEIN
BIOGENESIS.

Biopolymers in vivo

Michiel Niesen, California Institute of Technology COARSE-GRAINED MODELING OF MEMBRANE PROTEIN INTEGRATION VIA THE SEC TRANSLOCON.

Exocytosis & Endocytosis

Jason Paxman, Brigham Young University
ALCOHOL SIGNIFICANTLY ALTERS FUSIGENICITY OF VESICLES
IN A MODEL MEMBRANE SYSTEM.

Intrinsically Disordered Proteins

Gül Zerze, Lehigh University

DYNAMICS OF CONTACT FORMATION IN DISORDERED
POLYPEPTIDES.

Mechanobiology

Ishutesh Jain, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India DYNAMIC INSTABILITY EMERGES FROM MICROMECHANICS AND CHEMICAL KINETICS OF MICROTUBULE PROTOFILAMENTS.

OFFICERS

President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

President-Elect

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

Past-President

Edward Egelman University of Virginia

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Paul Axelsen
University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Olga Boudker
Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Ruth Heidelberger
Kalina Hristova
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Joseph D. Puglisi
Michael Pusch
Erin Sheets
Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Prithwish Pal

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Paul Axelsen

Inclusion and Diversity

Sandy Ross

International Relations

Felix Goñi

Member Services

Frances Separovic

Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Erin Sheets

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Suzanne Scarlata

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings

Richard Aldrich

Membrane Biophysics

Worawan Limpitikul, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine FUNCTIONAL RESCUE OF CALMODULINOPATHY IPSC-DERIVED CARDIOMYOCYTES -- A FORAY INTO PERSONALIZED MEDICINE.

Membrane Structure & Assembly

Caitlin Cornell, University of Washington
GENERAL ANESTHETICS RAISE THE MISCIBILITY TRANSITION TEMPERATURE OF
MODEL MEMBRANES.

Sarah Kim, Johns Hopkins University

DESIGN OF PH TRIGGERED, MACROMOLECULAR PORE FORMING PEPTIDES FOR

ENDOSOMAL ESCAPE.

Molecular Biophysics

Federico Comitani, King's College London, United Kingdom EXPLORING THE BINDING OF GABA TO THE INSECT RDL RECEPTOR WITH METADYNAMICS.

Motility

Martina Audagnotto, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland NEW INSIGHT INTO THE CATALYTIC AND INHIBITION MECHANISM OF THE HUMAN ACYL PROTEIN THIOESTERASE.

Nanoscale Biophysics

Bogdan Iaparov, Ural Federal University, Russia ELECTRON-CONFORMATIONAL TRANSFORMATIONS GOVERN THE TEMPERATURE DEPENDENCE OF THE RYR2 GATING.

Yan Yan, Emory University
HU PROTEIN AND DNA SUPERCOILING DRAMATICALLY ENHANCE LAC-REPRESSORMEDIATED DNA LOOPING.

Permeation & Transport

Cholpon Tilegenova, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center ELUCIDATION OF MOLECULAR MECHANISM UNDERLYING KCSA'S HYSTERETIC GATING BEHAVIOR.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society's Annual Meetings, visit www.biophysics.org.